Posted by: mommyinmotion | July 23, 2009

“Green Beans make me happy”

This is what Fiona told me last night when I asked her what vegetable she wanted for dinner. “Green beans make me happy, mama- they make me smile” I gotta tell you, hearing that put a huge smile on my face.

This is huge for us, a great step for Fiona. While Sian has always l0ved food, any food, Fiona balks at anything you put in front of her. Even foods she has eaten and liked before.  On a whim, she will decide she no longer likes something, and she uses every excuse in the book: “four-year-olds don’t eat potatoes“, “people with blue eyes don’t like spinach, just people with brown eyes do“, “carrots make my eyes sleepy

For Fiona to decide that she not only likes a vegetable, but actually feels quite fondly towards it is amazing to me. I guess all those talks we have are finally paying off. Sian, Fiona and I discuss nutrition at least once a day, usually several times a day. We don’t have long, drawn out complicated conversations. They’re too young for that, and I find that boring anyway. However, I make a point to try and demonstrate as many healthy habits for them as I can, and to answer any questions they have. For example, the other day Sian and I had this conversation

Sian: Why are you drinking that, Mommy? [points to V8]
Me: Because it’s good for me
Sian: Why?
Me: Because this juice is made from vegetables
Sian: Oh, they make you healthy and strong.

I’m pleased to have proof, though, that it’s all worth it. It’s not going in one ear and out the other, they are listening, absorbing, and making choices based off of that information. It’s a good feeling.

Responses

  1. I think it is really cool that you are getting your kids excited about nutrition and fitness. I’m sure it is a good motivator for you as well! One of my big reasons for wanting to get healthy is that I want to have kids in a few years and it is important to me to be a good example for them.

  2. I’m laughing out loud. Your daughter sounds like quite the character. Four year-olds don’t eat potatoes? That’s classic. It’s great that you find small ways to set good examples for your kids. Keep up the great work.

    Amani
    http://abayaandsneakers.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

