Posted by: mommyinmotion | August 16, 2009

“Be Worthy of Imitation”

I was reading through my emails on sparkpeople today, and I found this…

Be worthy of imitation

They say imitation is the greatest compliment, but are your actions worthy of imitation? We are all in some setting of leadership. Whether it be as a parent, boss, or friend we should constantly examine the example we are setting for those around us. Are you being a positive role model? Are you treating others in a dignified way? Be a cheerful and diligent worker, parent, and boss to those around you. Children, especially, are like sponges taking in your every action and word–they naturally want to be just like you. So be mindful of your word and deed, you never know who might be watching and silently learning what you are demonstrating.

“You must be careful how you walk and where you go, for there are those following you who will set their feet where yours are set” -Robert E. Lee, Civil War General

This really touches on the main reason behind my desire for a more healthy life. I look at Sian and Fional, and I see everything I want for them. I know that the best way for me to insure that they grow up healthy is to set a positive example that they will want to follow.  It’s something I make a genuine effort to do every day, but little by little I am letting things fall off the priority list right now.

We haven’t done our Healthy Day Charts since we moved. I am still making an effort to get them to meet their healthy goals each day (we always have fruit with breakfast and veggies with dinner- and they take their water bottles with them to school) But, some of it is becoming more of a challenge. Fiona is refusing to eat her vegetable more and more frequently at dinner time, and Sian is always trying to get kool aid instead of water to drink with his meals. I know that, when we had the sticker charts, they were excited about making those healthy decisions. I am going to have to print some more off the computer!

I think that, this time, I am going to make a chart for myself too. Partly just to remind myself that I am going to stay on track! And partly to let Sian and Fiona see that Mommy is making the same healthy choices that they are making each day. I want them to know that this isn’t something I am telling them to do, but something I am doing with them. Maybe then they will get their enthusiasm back a little. Maybe my enthusiasm will come back as well!

Responses

  1. Thanks for the note.

    I love that you have made the whole Making Healthy Choices thing a family affair!

    Also! I love that you’re doing 101 in 1001…I’m in love with this project.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I checked out your 101 in 1001 list too and I like it! I used to have my list split up into categories like that too but one of my layouts didn’t work with it. I really should change it back. I liked it.

    I like how you have decided to incorporate some optimism and encouragement for yourself. I think it will definitely help you in achieving your goals! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

