Posted by: mommyinmotion | September 5, 2009

#71- Go see the Highland Park Dentzel Carousel

#71- Go see the Highland Park Dentzel Carousel: Goal completed, September 5th.

I really wish I had my camera with me when we went. John and I were driving around, and I told him that I really wanted to take Sian and Fiona to see the carousel one day, but I wasn’t sure where it was. So, John took me to see it. We also just looked around the park a little bit. All in all, it was pretty fun.

The carousel was built in 1896, so it’s over 100 years old. But it’s still in working order, they even still do rides on it (just $0.50 a person). We found out a lot of interesting things about it- like the fact that it was originally purchased for $2,000 and is now worth over one million. The city spent over a decade restoring it in the 80’s and 90’s.

I am definitely going to go and see it again, this time with Sian and Fiona. I will bring my camera then. I think I am going to wait for a time that my sister can come with us. She just recently completed her degree in art restoration and material preservation, so checking this  would be right up her alley!

Leave a Reply

Categories

