Posted by: mommyinmotion | September 17, 2009

#99- Meditate at least once a day for a month

Goal Completed September 17th, 2009

I have always been interested in the idea of meditation, and would make an effort to meditate every now and then. It was never something I could really “get into” though. Too much still, too much quiet! It just didn’t seem to fit into my life. But as I was looking through Sparkpeople in August, I found this article: Now & Zen: Easy Relaxation Techniques and I decided to give it another go. Starting our life over (again) and left me feeling disoriented and stressed out beyond belief (again!). Something had to change, so I figured I needed to learn how to relax.

The tips from the article were to try

  • Deep Breathing
  • Progressive Muscular Relaxation
  • Mental Imagery
  • Meditation
  • Relaxing Music and Sound

I decided to incorporate the first three suggestions into the fourth, and forgo the music altogether. Simply put, I don’t have any music that would be deemed “relaxing”. I found that ending my day with the meditations, breathing deeply, relaxing my entire body and picturing what I wanted helped me to sleep easier at night.

Leave a Reply

Categories

