Posted by: mommyinmotion | September 18, 2009

Tiger Cub and Den Leader

#15- Volunteer at the Church. Goal met 9/17/09
Last night there was a meeting at Sian’s school to talk about cub scouts and register the kids. I figured we would go, since he was very excited about it. I thought we would get there, and we would be introduced to the Den Leader, meet the other kids, etc…

It turns out that there was no den leader. Just 4 very excited first graders who were going to be sorely disappointed if they didn’t walk out that door as Tiger Cubs. The other parents and I were supposed to elect a leader from the four of us.

The first dad spoke up “I’m being deployed next month, so I can’t do it.” The next mom says “my husband is deployed right now, so I can’t do it either” The third mom says nothing at all, and all three of them look at me. Talk about a tough spot!

I wanted to say “John is in the police academy the next 10 weeks, and then in Texas for 4 months after that. I am the only employee at the gym and expected to run things pretty much on my own since the owner’s live in Tupelo. I’m trying to get my personal training business going, find time to volunteer with the school homework club, and somehow squeeze in enough time to spend with my kids and study for my next certification before I collapse into bed at night.”

Instead I said, “Well, I guess I can do it”

I think my OFF button is broken! I’ve been thinking about it though, and I guess it’s not going to be too bad. Since Sian is a Tiger Cub, I am expected to be at all the meetings anyway. The scout people gave me a handy manual that has “lesson plans” outlined for all the activities the kids are going to do, broken down by week. And I’ve been saying I want to do more active things with the kids anyway.

In other news…

John has officially completed his first week of the police academy, he got home last night around 7. We get to spend the weekend together and then he goes back again on Sunday. I’m feeling a little more on track with my health plans, I have been experimenting with a lot of healthy recipes and making more time to workout.

John and I both did a weigh-in last night, to see how our first week of this went. He lost 3 lbs this week, and I lost 0.8lbs. Both of us were a little disappointed, but I think it’s fine, in all honesty. I really don’t expect big losses anymore. Big losses come from dramatic changes, and I’ve been doing this so long, there is nothing big and drastic to change. I just have to keep going and see what happens. I know that John was really hoping for a better loss though. He’s one of the heavier guys there, and really hoping that all this extra training will help him get the weight off.

Leave a Reply

Categories

