Posted by: mommyinmotion | September 25, 2009

Just Because

Sian and Fiona have been handling the separation from John better than I expected. Probably because he is still able to come home on the weekends, so they aren’t going too long without seeing him. I was worried about this though, so it’s a relief that they seem to be doing ok!

I’ve been trying to spend a lot more time really being “with” them. Sure, when we are not at work/in school, we are together, but a lot of the time I feel like I am not actually with them, just in the same building. Usually I am cleaning, working out, making dinner, organizing, etc… and they are running around playing. I have been making the effort to spend some one-on-one time with them, but I have started to feel like that’s not enough. These past few days I have been making more of an effort to notice them, to prioritize my time so that when they are awake I spend as much time with them as possible.

For example, the other day when we got home from school, my mind was filled with the things that needed to be done. I wanted to work on laundry on Wednesday, because I knew that John would need the machine last night when he got home. Sian and Fiona, on the other hand, really wanted to stay outside. Lately it’s been raining a lot, so sunny weather is a rarity for them. They looked dissapointed when I rushed the three of us inside and headed straight for the laundry room.

It hurt to see them looking unhappy and knowing that I was to blame, so I quickly started a load of laundry, and then called them back downstairs so we could go outside. I figured that the rest of the cleaning  (what I normally do while I am waiting on the laundry) could wait, and we spent about an hour enjoying the sunshine before heading back in to get started on homework and dinner.

Seeing how happy that made them inspired me to make a similar choice last night. When Sian was doing his homework, I put a movie on for Fiona and I was going to go to the basement to get a quick workout in. Fiona caught me at the top of the stairs and told me “I want to be with you, Mommy”. I wanted to tell her to go back and watch her movie, that I would be done in a little while. I decided instead to put my workout off (I had already done an hour earlier anyway) and go sit with her. We got one of her magazines and read on the couch together until it was time to go to scouts. I was sorry to give up my workout (I never did make it down to the basement) but I think spending time with Fiona was just as rewarding!

Responses

  1. Can you find activities to do with your kids outside so youre also getting a mini workout in? i.e. take them bike riding or play ball or tag with them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

