Posted by: mommyinmotion | October 13, 2009

Quest for Balance

These past few months I have been in a downward spiral with control (or lack thereof) in my life. I know that I have too much on my plate. I know that I am stressed out too often, not getting enough sleep, not doing what I need to do to take care of myself so that I can take care of my family.

I keep promising myself that each morning is going to be the start of a new day, and I am going to wake up refreshed and energized. I am going to tackle all the things I need and want to do, and do so with a smile on my face. So far I haven’t actually found the morning that I do wake up energized. I haven’t made it to the bottom of my eternal “to do” list in so many days that I have lost count, and I don’t remember the last time I ended a day feeling happy and accomplished.

I know that what I need is balance in my life. So I am going to try and take a step back from the big picture for a little while, and focus on one thing at a time each day. I can’t tackle every thing in every area, but I can do one thing in each area of my life. So, for tomorrow, I am focusing on:

  • Diet: I will drink at least 64 oz of water. It’s not that hard to do, I just haven’t been doing it lately.
  • Work: I will organize my office. I spend half my day trying to figure out what needs to be done next. Before I leave, the office will be clean and orderly, allowing me to begin the next day fresh.
  • House: I will get the laundry folded and put away. I am sick of looking at it on the couch.
  • Yard: I will fix the lawn mower. I might not get around to mowing the lawn tomorrow, but the darn thing is going to start up, at least!
  • Volunteering: I will contact the Scout Master and set a time and place for our meeting this week.
  • Kids: I will let Sian and Fiona help me cook dinner. I have been shooing them out of the kitchen all week because they “slow things down” I need to slow down. And they love to help. There is no reason not to let them be a part of that.
  • Fitness: I will remind myself of my quest for balance by attempting crane pose. I will not berate myself when/if I fall- it’s the attempt that counts

And you know what? That’s plenty. It might make just a small dent, but it’s a dent. And Thursday I will handle just a little more. And a little more on Friday. Hopefully, before long, it won’t seem to overwhelming anymore.

Responses

  1. Hi there,
    could you be low on iron? I have suffered as you have and if I dont have my iron shots Im stuffed. And how about doing tree pose and have a wall near by? You will make it to where you want to be, this much is obvious to me. Aroha

  2. You can do it! I think the organization of your office is a great idea too, whenever I walk into a mess anywhere it ruins the whole day, even things unrelated. I think those sorts of things will help!!

  3. I could have written this post… it is so similar to how I’ve been feeling. And once again I’m stealing one of your great ideas and instead of focusing on my huge to-do list, I’m going to focus on one things per category… I’m also going to look into an iron supplement because I think I’ve had problems with that in the past :/


Leave a Reply

Categories

