Posted by: mommyinmotion | October 23, 2009

Personal Training

I started training a new client this week. And by new I mean, I have never trained this person before AND I have never trained anyone in this particular gym before AND I have never trained a guy before. So yeah- this was different!

I was really excited to start training here. It’s something I have been wanting to do, but never managed to find the time for. But I am slowly getting a handle on the office/community side of the job and decided to pursue my real passion as well. I know that I will never have the time for a multitude of clients, but I am ok with just training one or two people at any given time. I know that the other side of my job has to come first and, a lot of the time, it doesn’t leave much time for family and fun, much less spending extra hours at the gym working off the clock!

Starting these sessions made me really nervous, which surprised me a little bit. When I worked at Fitness Lady, I worked on the gym floor with members before getting my certification and starting personal training. All my clients there were women, and I was really comfortable with everything I was doing. But when I sat down to write the first program for this client, I panicked a little- how do you train a guy??

I know it’s silly. After all, a bicep is a bicep, male or female. But I know that, while most of training is about the body, how the muscles react to the movements, etc… some of it is all about what the client thinks. I wouldn’t hesitate to give a female client leg lifts, for example. But I think a man would look at me like I was crazy! Even though we all have the same muscles, I know men and women approach workouts differently, and it’s my job to design a workout that not only benefits each clients overall health, endurance, and strength, but also meets their internal vision of what a “good” workout should be. And let me tell you, it’s not easy getting into the mindset of a 20 year old guy!

I have to say though, now that the session is done, I really enjoyed it! Designing programs was always my favorite part of my other job. I loved it when members and clients would submit a request for a new program, and tell me what areas they really wanted to focus on, what exercises they didn’t like from before, etc… It was a challenge, a puzzle- what should I set up for them that will meet their wishes AND be the biggest benefit?

And once I got to working on this one, it was the same thing. It was fun! I went to Books a Million to browse through some of the fitness magazines aimed at men to get an idea of what they look for in a website. I quizzed The Husband about what his goals for a workout are, and what the guys he trains with in the police academy do. I observed the men who came to workout here. And then I got to put all my notes and observations into one kick ass workout!

While I loved my other job, and was comfortable and confident there, I am so glad that I am now in a co-ed gym that gave me the opportunity to take on this new challenge!

Responses

  1. This is awesome! I’m so excited for your new challenge. I wish you we were closer so you could train me, I could use a kick ass work out plan hehe!


Leave a Reply

Categories

