Posted by: mommyinmotion | November 11, 2009

Viva La Resistance (Bands)

I mentioned that I brought some resistance bands to Memphis with me. Sunday- I took the kids to the gym with me, and they saw me using the free weights, and machines. On Monday, I wanted to let them see that working out doesn’t have to be in a gym, that they can be healthy anywhere. Normally they don’t see me do my workouts, because my home equipment is in the basement (and they are not allowed down those stairs!)

So, we pulled out the resistance bands. I showed them the charts that demonstrate some of the stretches and exercises. And we practiced them together. We also did some body weight exercises. Fiona liked the curtsy lunges (she pretended she was a princess) and got a kick out of “helping” me with my push-ups. Normal push-ups: 20. Push ups with 40lbs of wiggling four-year-old on my back: 5.

Sian took it all so seriously. He outpaces me with pushups everytime (darn kid can do 26 before he loses form!). He struggles with squats though. We talked a lot about being safe when we workout, and he just can’t seem to keep his knees behind his toes. He did a great job with the bands, though. He practiced reverse flys, seated rows, bicep curls, and upright rows.

It was a fun night. The kids lept around the den and laughed and played. And I think they learned a lot. Because over the course of two days they saw how to keep themselves healthy and strong, both in a gym and at home. And they are applying those choices each day- which is impressive to me. They are well on their way to being the healthy, confident, and happy people I want them to be. Nothing beats that!

Leave a Reply

Categories

