Posted by: mommyinmotion | November 13, 2009

One year ago today…

…I posted this entry on the blog I had at the time:

It might be crazy but…

… I’ve started giving some serious consideration to pursuing work as a personal trainer. I’m sure many people who know me think I’m a little off my rocker. And I might be. I’ve certainly had my share of doubts about it.

I wonder if I am going to be able to find work right now, with the economy bad. I wonder if the pay will be enough to help support our family now that we are no longer associated with the military. And I wonder if I can even do this. After all, I have a hard time keeping myself on track- how am I going to help others stay on track too?!?

BUT… I think I really want to do this. I think this might be the right thing for me. While job hunting, my FIL told me to picture something I really enjoy doing- and then pursue that. I’ve been interviewing for secretary positions and, while certain aspects of the job are appealing to me, I can’t picture myself waking up in the morning happy to go to work.

But I like to exercise. I enjoy the feeling I get when I know that I am making the best choices for myself each day. And I think I would like sharing that feeling with others. So I’ve decided to pursue it, and tackle my doubts along the way.

1) The economy– I have no intention of trying to start my own business at this point, so I am not too worried about that. I have applied for three gyms so far, and that’s just the three on this street! I have a list of 20 others that I am planning to call over the next few days- and I am sure I will be able to get my foot in the door with at least one of them.

2) Income– I’ve been looking into getting certified. I know that general floor workers are not going to make a lot of money off the bat, but with a certification I can make more, and perhaps even teach some classes. I found an article that lists the 7 accredited Personal Trainer Certification Programs, and I am starting to do some research on them, and will pick a program based on which ones are most highly accepted in this area to increase my chances of getting work!

3) Staying on track– I think that this might actually be the push I need to keep myself in check! Afterall, what better way to stay accountable in a healthy lifestyle than to focus on health, nutrition, and fitness for a living?

I’m still not 100% sold on the idea, but this is the most I’ve been excited about anything in years- so I think I might have found my calling.

It’s so amazing to me to think about how much my life has changed in the past year! And scary to think about how quickly I dove into this new life- head first with no life jacket! A week after I made that blog post, I got the job at Fitness Lady. A month after that blog post, I had begun studying for my AFAA certification. 5 months after that post I was certified! 7 months after that post I made a spur-of-the-moment decision to take the group fitness certification and passed! 8 months after that post I began my job here at Anytime Fitness.

It’s been crazier, more hectic, scarier, and more stessful than I could have ever imagined. And I wouldn’t change a thing about it. Through and through, I know that this was the right decision for me. What a difference one year has made for me!

Leave a Reply

Categories

