Posted by: mommyinmotion | January 4, 2010

Run, Mommy, Run!

I have never been a big fan of New Year’s resolutions. I tend to make the same one’s every year, and I never keep them. This is the first year in a really long time though, that I have not started by focusing on something negative. I usually resolve to lose weight- and I really don’t care about that anymore. Sure, I still have some weight I would like to lose but, overall, I am actually pretty happy with myself for once!

I have decided to make this my year to meet my running goals, though. I have been running off-and-on since Fiona was almost two. I always start a running program, and then stop after a few months. Not having a goal to work towards leads to me losing interest, I suppose.

I’ve been saying that I was going to run a 5K for about a year now. Ideally, I would like to be able to run a 10K and a half-marathon as well. I am training for those goals this year. There is a marathon and half-marathon at the beginning of January every year in Jackson-and next year I want to be a part of it! For now, though, the goal is just to get to the 5K distance!

When I first started running, I used the Couch to 5K program. I started a modified version of it again in October, and have been running 30 minutes a couple of times a week since then. I’ve been tracking my miles on the daily mile as well- to try and keep myself motivated! I’m hoping that this is the year I finally tackle those goals!

Leave a Reply

Categories

