Posted by: mommyinmotion | January 23, 2010

#65- Make new blankets for Sian and Fiona

Goal completed 1/23/10

I finally got around to this one! It’s something I have been meaning to do for a long time, because both kids have long since outgrown the blankets I made for them when they were little. I am not a crafty person. I cannot knit, crochet, quilt or sew. But I can tie knots! And that’s all you need to know how to do for this project. Well, that, and use scissors!

I made the first blankets back in 2005- as Christmas gifts for Sian and Fiona  that year. I learned how from a friend online (who I have since lost touch with!) For small blankets, I started with just one yard of fabric. Their new blankets have two yards.

The instructions are simple:

-Select the length have fleece fabric that you desire, and then cut it in two equal halfs.
-Line the two halves up and then cut a square out of each corner. (I found that it helped to use several safety pins to keep the two halves together during this step!)
-Cut tags (one to two inches long) along all four edges of the combined fabric, cutting both pieces of fabric
-Knot the two pieces of fabric together by tying the tags you cut!

That’s it! It takes awhile, but the blankets hold up forever! The only reason I replaced the origional blankets is because I noticed that Sian and Fiona had both outgrown their old ones.

They loved this project though. They got to go with me to JoAnn’s Fabrics and pick out whatever pattern they wanted, which was a lot of fun for them. Sian wants to be just like his Daddy, so it didn’t surprise me at all that he wanted camoflauge.Fiona loves daisy’s, so she found a pattern with rainbow colored flowers that looked enough like daisy’s to make her happy.

We chose a great time to get started on it, too. The weather had gotten really cold, and it was nice to have some fuzzy fleece blankets to cuddle up with in the evenings. It’s not as cold now, but they still like them. Fiona has started taking hers to school with her as her nap time blanket- and Sian walks around the house with his wrapped around his shoulders. I even bought several extra yards so I can make some for John and I. I haven’t gotten around to making them yet, but I think I will try and get started on them this weekend.

Leave a Reply

Categories

