Posted by: mommyinmotion | February 6, 2010

So much for that fresh start!

Today was my Saturday to work again. I am going to be glad when these weekend hours are over with! Before I went to work I put Moneypenny out in the yard with some food and water so she wouldn’t have to stay in her kennel all day. We do this every day when I leave the house. Our yard is mostly fenced but, since there are some broken areas we have her on a line in the yard. It gives her freedom to move, but keeps her safely in our yard at the same time. Or so I thought!

When I got home from work, our neighbor was taping a note to the door. Somehow, Moneypenny had gotten off her lead and out of the yard- she was found on the side of the road hit by a car. Luckily, she had a color with our number and address on it (unfortunantly, I left my phone at home today!) The man who found her left a few messages for me and then took her to a weekend vet.

When we got home, we got right back in the car to get her. The vet said she had been stunned more than anything, and was a little bruised, but had no serious damage. She was shaken and in some pain, but otherwise fine. I’m glad she’s ok, but just really upset that this happened at all!

I don’t know what we’re going to do with her. I hate leaving her locked in the kennel all day when I am at work- some days she’d have to be in there for 10 hours! But I don’t want to worry that she will undo the lead again- and get hurt worse next time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

