Posted by: mommyinmotion | February 13, 2010

Rush to Brush 5K

#54- run a 5K race: Goal Met! 2/13/2010

This morning was my first official 5K race. I ran the Rush to Brush 5K in Jackson, MS. The plan was to go up last night and spend the night with my family. We had some unexpected snow and ice, though, and I was worried about driving.

I put off leaving until this morning, but I did manage to drag my butt out of bed at 5am and hit the road half-an-hour later. This is a pretty huge accomplishment for me, since I am not a morning person. At all.

Post-race. I've been smiling like that ever since!

I was really nervous about the race, I don’t normally run outside, and running outside, with the cold, and ice on the road- plus a LOT of hills had me very worried.

I did it though, and I did better than I thought I would! Racing is addictive, though. I am already looking for another 5k to run, and planning to start training for a 10k soon!

My official race time was 29:06. My goal was to do it in about 30 minutes, so I am pleased with that time! I came in 66th out of 127 runners, and 6th out of 11 in my age group. Not the best, but not the worst either. Middle of the pack is just fine by me!

Responses

  1. Congratulations on your first 5K. I bet you never thought there would be snow on the ground! What a smile of accomplishment.

  2. Races are awesome, aren’t they? Congrats on your first 5k! And under 30 minutes, a great time! You will love doing 10k’s too. I see you have half marathon on your list as well. My goal is to run one this year myself. Good luck to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

