Posted by: mommyinmotion | February 15, 2010

#98- Take One Day Just for Me

Goal Met 2/13/2010

I forgot to post that this goal was also accomplished! February 13th was not just the day I did my first race, it was also my “me day”. I got up early that morning to drive to Jackson, and John stayed home with Sian and Fiona. That morning I was able to visit with my parents, grandmother and sister before I went down to the race.

The race was an amazing experience, and something I did for myself. It’s something I have wanted to do for such a long time, but I kept putting my goals on the back-burner for other things in life. It felt awesome to make my goal and what I wanted a priority for once!

After the race I went shopping (I had a gift card burning a hole in my pocket) and finally got myself some new jeans. Size four- I can’t believe I am actually that small! All through high school I had this image of my ideal size being a 6. As a size 10 or 12- size six seemed so tiny- and four felt impossibly small.

When I was done shopping, I met up with an old friend for lunch, and it was great getting a chance to catch up with her. We have talked on facebook, but haven’t seen each other in six years! We were best friends for about 12 years, and slowly lost touch in our teens, and then once I got married and started moving all over it was impossible to see each other any more. It was great taking the time to visit with her!

I drove back to Meridian and spent the rest of the evening just hanging out with John. We watched movies and talked all night. All in all, it was an amazing day, and I am so glad that I did it!

Responses

  1. What a wonderful day!
    A little freedom from the kids, seeing family – and doing some great things for yourself. That *should* happen now and then. You deserve it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

