Posted by: mommyinmotion | February 28, 2010

Motherhood Moments: February

The kids and I have been getting antsy with the cold weather, it’s no fun staying inside all the time! We’ve started taking walks together some evenings after work/school. Usually not for very long, just long enough to get outside for the last of the sunlight and run around a little bit!

I think that walking is just about the only thing I miss about Nevada. I didn’t have a car, so the kids and I would go walking together every day. When Sian started school Fiona and I would walk with him every day and again to go pick him up. If we wanted to go to the park- we walked. Go to the grocery store or dollar store? We walked. We were definitely healthier!

Both kids have always loved being outside, but I think Fiona just a little bit more than Sian. She’s always just had an absolute awe for the world around her. She’s definitely not a child that was meant to be cooped up inside all day- she’s got too much energy and curiosity for that! The only real downside to it is that it’s hard to walk for exercise when Fiona comes along. She stops every few steps to look at a rock, or a leaf, or flower. Sometimes she just stops to take in the sun or wind. It’s not a bad thing, though. And I guess that every now and then I need the reminder to just slow down and appreciate my surroundings!

Leave a Reply

Categories

