Posted by: mommyinmotion | March 5, 2010

Breaking Up Is Hard To Do (a conversation with my scale)

Dear Scale,

Surely you have noticed that things are not the same between us anymore. I’ve searched for the right words to break this news to you for many weeks now. This isn’t easy- but neither are you. I am breaking up with you.

I could say “Let’s just be friends” but- let’s face it, you’ve never been a real friend to me. Sometimes you show me a number that makes me elated, I feel special and on top of the world. Other times you show me numbers that cause me to doubt myself and the hard work I am doing. These constant ups-and-downs just aren’t healthy.

Maybe I should say “I’m just not ready for a commitment right now” After all, the relationship we have had is so time consuming. I have a husband, two children, a full time job, volunteer work, hobbies, and friends. I can’t spend so much time each day thinking about you- or what you will “say” with each bite I eat or workout I do. I can’t keep stopping in to see you every day, sometimes two or three times a day. I’m just not in a place to be tied down with the type of commitment you have always wanted from me.

But really, the thing that sums it up is “It’s not you, it’s me” You haven’t changed. You’re a constant and always have been. But I have changed. I’ve grown, and I am ready to move on with a life that doesn’t include you. I don’t need the highs-and-lows that you have to offer. I don’t need you to prove to me that I am healthy. I have been on a journey of discovery, and this is the place where we need to take different paths.

I’m sure we’ll see each other from time to time. I’ll check in with you every month or so- to catch up. But for now, I think it’s best that you move out. So please, be ready to pack up and vacate the bathroom this evening. You can crash on the top shelf of the linen closet if you need a place to stay. There are some curtains and maternity clothes up there that you can hang out with.

Love,

Me

Responses

  1. Love this! I’m definitely on the same page; I don’t even have a scale, so if I want to weigh myself, I have to go over to my boyfriend’s. 🙂

  2. Ha! I just had a “scale” revelation myself! It no longer rules my emotions or measures my success!

    Kitty
    Diary of a Morbidly Obese Woman Joining a Gym
    http://www.morbidlyobeseandchanging.wordpress.com

  3. I LOVE this! I should probably say something similar to my scale…

  4. I love this too! I can just see you throwing the scale out of the window. Good bye.


Leave a Reply

Categories

