Posted by: mommyinmotion | March 8, 2010

Run Through History 10K

#55- Run a 10K Race: goal met 3/6/2010

Done and DONE! I can’t believe I survived!

Saturday was a beautiful day. My mother, youngest sister and I got up around 6 am so we could be out the door at 6:30 and in Vicksburg by 7:30 for pre-race packet pick up. It was a little chilly first thing in the morning, but the day quickly warmed up- no snow for this race!!

Once we got to Vicksburg I started having some second thoughts- afterall, we had to walk up an insanely tall hill just to get our numbers and chips- and that was nothing compared to the hills along the path we were running.

We lined up with the other 10K runners at 8:30 though at the bottom of a hill no less, and waited for the cannon to announce the start of the race. Yes, a cannon! We were running through a civil war memorial park- so they pulled out all the stops for this one.  My sister and I stayed together for about the first mile- and then I got impatient. I felt like the hills were going to kill me, so I had to play some mind games to keep myself going. I would pick someone ahead of me in the crowd (easy to do since there were 35o of us!) and make is my “mission” to pass them.  Once that goal was met- I would pick someone new. On and on until I came to the top of the final hill and saw the finish line.

I couldn’t believe I survived. I couldn’t believe that I enjoyed it! As crazy as it sounds, and as tough as the course was- I can’t wait to try that race again next year. I came in 10th in my age group, and 196th overall. Not bad for a first 10K! Two pictures below. The first, my sister and I pre-race (she finished not far behind me 1:01:05) and the second a woman from the local running club- we had to meet up!

Responses

  1. Congrats on your first 10K. You did amazing!!

  2. That’s awesome! Congrats!

  3. I gave you an award!!

    Thanks for being awesome!

    http://saysomethingstacey.com/?p=2193


Leave a Reply

Categories

